Ever wondered whether kosher gelatin is halal or not? This most specifically depends on a lot of external factors and has been under debate with scholars from around the world with each having their own set of opinions on the matter.
Here, we’re going to present factual cases and arguments on to prove that Kosher Gelatin is indeed Hala, and that its perfectly permissible to eat
So let’s get started
There is debate among most of them in regards to what Kosher does and how It’s made. We’re going to look at each of these arguments with quotes from Scholars and Fiqhs to help you make up your own set of ideals.
Yes, since their meat is halal for us to eat, and kosher foods are slaughtered by Jews and they don’t compromise in that regard. It is important to note that Jews may have foods labelled kosher that contain wine. Therefore, kosher is not synonymous with halal. In the case of gelatin, it is halal.Hatem Al-Haj
There are some other people who agree with him. According to Halal Yummies, there are different kosher certifying organisations and they all consider different things to be kosher. Foods that are labelled OU, V, CRC and KUF K can be regarded as halal meat. As these organisations are the one that don’t consider pork gelatin to be kosher product.
There’s one kind of kosher gelatin that is considered to be halal by almost everyone is gelatin made up of fish.
It depends on the source of the gelatin. If it is from slaughtered kosher meat, it would be halal since the meat is halal. If it is from fish or vegetarian sources, it is of course halal.SeekerShub (Hanafi School of Thought)
Mostly vegan products whether gelatin or any other food is both kosher and halal. This goes for vegetarian products too.
According to Ahle tashee fiqh on Sistani.org;
It is permissible to eat gelatin if one thinks that it has been extracted from an animal or vegetable. But, if it is known that it was derived from an animal, then it is not permissible to eat without ascertaining that the animal was slaughtered according to sharia. This prohibition applies, as a matter of obligatory precaution, even if it was extracted from animal bones.Ahl-E-Tashee
Of course, if a chemical change occurs in the original ingredients during the process of manufacturing the gelatin, there is no problem at all in eating it. Similarly, even if one has doubt whether the animal was slaughtered islamically or not, still there is no problem in adding the gelatin [made from that animal] to the food in such a minute amount that it is completely absorbed in it.
It would be easier to know in detail whether kosher gelatin is halal or not if we go in the similarities and differences of kosher and halal foods.
Following are the similarities between Islamic and Judaism dietary laws.
Now let us see what are the differences in the laws of halal and kosher?
It can be safely said that not all kosher gelatin is halal. You have to check the source on the label to be sure that what you are consuming is allowed in your sect or not. So in conclusion, fish sourced kosher gelatin, bovine kosher gelatin and vegan gelatin can be consumed and are considered halal.
Happy eating everyone!